The Office of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation (OHCSF) has inaugurated a 12-member Committee for the promotion of the health and well-being of its staff. The inauguration was carried out by the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation (HoSF), Dr Folasade Yemi-Esan, CFR, who was represented by the Director Overseeing the Office of the Permanent Secretary, Service Welfare Office (SWO) in the OHCSF, Dr Comfort Adeosun.

Dr. Yemi Esan, CFR noted that the initiative is in line with pillar 6 of the Federal Civil Service Strategy and Implementation Plan 2021-2025 (FCSSIP-25), which is to improve the value proposition of staff through continuous promotion of a safe and convenient work environment, well-being, as well as the provision of basic support services for Civil Servants through various activities.

She also disclosed that the inauguration of the Committee marks a significant step towards actualising the objectives of the National Policy on Occupational Safety and Health (OSH), which was developed, amongst  other things, to provide a general framework for the improvement of working conditions and workspace for workers.

She reiterated the need for the members to prioritise safety at all levels and times, adding that a safety audit will be carried out, very soon. “You are going to become the voice and the eyes of safety in the OHCSF,” she opined.

Membership of the Committee was drawn from the Occupational Health Safety and Environment (OHSE) Department and other critical Departments that are key stakeholders in the implementation of Safety and Health Policy in the OHCSF.

The mandate of the committee, among other things, is to make recommendations to the Management on hazards control measures and other aspects for the improvement of safety, health and welfare of staff in the workplace.

She further encouraged members of the committee to serve with diligence and commitment because the safety and well-being of all staff is very essential for improved productivity, as well as quality service delivery.

Also speaking at the event, the Acting Director, OHSE, Engr. Bello Kwali, in his Welcome Address acknowledged the giant strides taken by the OHCSF to domesticate the National Policy on Occupational Safety and Health (OSH), which was revised in 2020 in the Public Service by issuing a circular in 2022 for the establishment of Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) Desks in all Ministries, extra-ministerial Departments and Agencies (MDAs). He also disclosed that one hundred and fifty (150) OSH Desk Officers have been equipped by the OHSE Department in the OHCSF with requisite competencies to discharge the responsibility of coordinating the implementation of OSH activities in their MDAs, while some have gone further to acquire relevant safety certifications.

Members of the Safety, Health and Hazard Control Committee of the OHCSF are:

i. Dr. Comfort Adeosun( Chairman)

ii. Engr Bello Kwali( Member)

iii. Mr. Tunde Sadibo (Member) 

iv. Dokai Anthony (Member)

v. Gabriel Ladi (Member)

vi. Mrs. Magdalene Wannang (Member)

vii. Olufunke Taiwo Akinwumi (Member)

viii. Ibrahim Abdullahi Masari (Member)

ix. Mrs Ogenovoh Maxwell (Member)

x. Dr. Peter Ogbuoji (Member)

xi. Engr.Kassim Ibrahim (Member) and

xii. Mrs. Adogeri Beloved Nneoma (Secretary).

A paper presentation on Occupational Safety and Health: Roles and Responsibility of a Safety, Health and Hazard Control Committee was delivered by Mr Isreal from the Hybrid Group.


M. A. Ahmed,

Director, Communications.