Three new Permanent Secretaries have assumed duty in the Office of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation (OHCSF).

This development is sequel to a circular signed by the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan deploying Permanent Secretaries as approved by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The Permanent Secretaries are Alhaji Ibrahim Yusuf, Dr.  Ngozi Onwudiwe and Dr. Marcus Ogunbiyi who were deployed to Common Services Office (CSO), Staff Welfare Office (SWO) and Common Management Office (CMO), respectively.

The trio are now to work together with Dr. Emmanuel Meribole and Mrs Ibiene Roberts who are currently manning Service Policy and Strategies Office (SPSO) and Special Duties Office respectively. 

Speaking during the handing over, the Permanent Secretary, Common Services Office (CSO) Alhaji Ibrahim Yusuf Idris promised to adhere to open and transparent fiscal best practices in the discharge of his duties.

Alhaji Yusuf said he saw his appointment as a trust which must never be betrayed, adding that he would run an inclusive administration so as to achieve the mandate of the office.

The Common Services Office is responsible for overall administrative activities in the entire office of the Office of Head of Civil Service of the Federation.

In his own speech, Dr. (Engr.) Marcus Ogunbiyi who took over from Mr. Mamman Mahmuda promised to run an open door policy and work with all staff to deliver the mandate of his Office. The Career Management Office (CMO), is responsible for managing the career of officers in the pool of the Office of the Head of Civil Service of the Federation.

The office also liaises with the Federal Civil Service Commission on matters of Appointment, Promotion and Discipline. Mr. Mamman Mahmuda is now with the Federal Ministry of Health.

Speaking while taking over the mantle of her Office, Dr. Ngozi Onwudiwe appealed for all hands to be on deck so as to move the service forward.

The Service Welfare Office (SWO) superintends over the general welfare of civil servants Service-wide. This includes housing, industrial relations, transportation, pension, insurance, occupational health and safety, in the bid to make life comfortable for civil servants. She took over from Dr. Evelyn Ngige who is now with the Ministry of Industry, Trade and Investment.

The five departments in the OHCSF have the general mandate to implement policies and programmes of the Office for rapid and sustainable development.


AbdulGaniyu Aminu

Director (Press & Public Relations) OHCSF

More Images